Live In Munich 1977

2006 | Eagle

‘Live In Munich’ 2006 Eagle

Album information/credits:

Recorded at Munich Olympiahalle, Germany, 20th October 1977


Ritchie Blackmore – guitar
Ronnie James Dio – vocals
Cozy Powell – drums
Bob Daisley – bass
David Stone – keyboards

Track listing:

1. Over The Rainbow (intro)
2. Kill The King
3. Mistreated
4. Sixteenth Century Greensleeves
5. Catch The Rainbow
6. Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll
7. Man On The Silver Mountain
8. Still I’m Sad
9. Do You Close Your Eyes

Finally a new Rainbow release worth having, although technically it had been available as a bootleg for years, this was the official release of the infamous Rockpalast concert from 1977 – Ritchie has been jailed 2 nights earlier in Austria for assaulting a security guard. The next night’s show had to be cancelled as Blackmore was still in jail, and even this show (filmed for German TV) nearly didn’t go ahead – eventually the show started 3 hours late. The extended ‘Do You Close Your Eyes’ guitar demolition doesn’t work without the visuals to accompany the destruction but overall this is an essential release showcasing the band at its peak.

Track listing and running order is the same as the DVD – this was also released on 2LP 180gm vinyl in 2010.