The Very Best Of Rainbow

1997 | Polydor

‘The Very Best Of Rainbow’ 1997 Polydor

This is the second greatest hits package released on behalf of Rainbow (in other words, ‘cashing in’ by the record company). The tracks are a chronological retrospective of the band from 1975 to 1983. The front cover image is a coloured version of the one that featured on the inside gatefold of the very first album (which is actually a shot of Blackmore in his latter Deep Purple days). This compilation would only be of any service to a brand new Rainbow fan as there is nothing on here that has not been previously released:

Track listing:

  1.  Man on the Silver Mountain (from Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow, 1975)
  2. Catch the Rainbow (from Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow, 1975)
  3. Starstruck (from Rainbow Rising, 1976)
  4. Stargazer (from Rainbow Rising, 1976)
  5. Kill the King (from Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll, 1978)
  6. Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll (from Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll, 1978)
  7. Gates of Babylon (from Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll, 1978)
  8. Since You Been Gone (from Down to Earth, 1979)
  9. All Night Long (from Down to Earth, 1979)
  10. I Surrender (from Difficult to Cure, 1981)
  11. Can’t Happen Here (from Difficult to Cure, 1981)
  12. Jealous Lover (from Can’t Happen Here/Jealous Lover, 1981)
  13. Stone Cold (from Straight Between the Eyes, 1982)
  14. Power (from Straight Between the Eyes, 1982)
  15. Can’t Let You Go (from Bent Out of Shape, 1983)
  16. Street of Dreams (from Bent Out of Shape, 1983)